Extruda

Home / Compare / Best AI floor plan to 3D and CAD tools

Comparison

Best AI floor plan to 3D and CAD tools (2026)

Six tools that turn a floor plan into something 3D, compared on the seven things that decide whether the result is usable: what you can feed in, whether you get editable geometry or a picture, CAD and BIM files, 3D mesh files, AI layout review, contractor quoting, and the price at which export unlocks. Every cell was checked against the vendor's own public pages; where a vendor says nothing, the cell says not advertised.

Extruda is our product. The table is built to be quoted, so it states what each vendor publishes and nothing more. If a cell is wrong, email hello@extruda.ai and we will fix it.

The comparison table

Checked against each vendor's pricing, feature and help pages on 2 November 2026. Prices in USD.

Tool Accepted inputs Output type CAD & BIM exports 3D mesh exports AI layout review Contractor quoting & PM Starting price / export tier
Extruda Image (PNG, JPG, WebP), one-page PDF, scanned or hand-drawn plan, DXF; iPhone photo, sketch and LiDAR room scan Editable 2D drawing and 3D geometry (walls, rooms, doors, windows), plus renders and tours Layered DXF (metres); IFC with walls, openings, doors, windows, spaces, columns, materials. DWG Soon .blend (lit scene), glTF/GLB, OBJ, SVG Yes: circulation, daylight, ways out, clearances, doors & windows, privacy; previewable fixes. Educational, not a code review Yes: bill of materials from the drawing, priced quote, proposal sign-off, phases, budget vs actual, client report Free (LiDAR scan, 1 plan); Starter $25/mo annual; CAD/3D export from Pro $191.67/mo annual ($229.99 monthly); quoting from Studio $375/seat/mo annual
RoomSketcher Blueprint or computer-drawn plan upload for AI Convert or a drafting service; LiDAR capture on iPhone/iPad (FloorCapture). Hand-drawn scan tracing not advertised Editable 2D plan with 3D floor plan views; downloads are JPG, PNG, PDF Not offered (help centre: no editable or CAD formats) Not advertised Not advertised Not advertised; Team adds project collaboration Free; Pro $12/mo annual ($24 monthly); Team $35/mo annual. No CAD/3D export tier
Snaptrude Modelled in the browser; DWG base import per vendor pages. Image or PDF tracing and LiDAR not found Editable BIM model DWG, IFC and Revit export per vendor pages (native .rvt via plugin) Not advertised Partial: daylight and illuminance analysis (Pro). Circulation or privacy review not advertised Not advertised Free; Pro $50/mo annual ($60 monthly) with exports; Organization $100/seat/mo annual
Archome Upload or draw a 2D plan; photos and hand sketches for rendering. PDF and LiDAR not mentioned Mainly renders and video; an editable 3D plan for Plan & Render Not advertised GLB Not advertised Not advertised Free trial credits; Lite $29/mo; export tier not stated
CamPlan AI LiDAR room scan (iPhone Pro, iPad Pro); AI video scan on other devices. Image or PDF plan import not confirmed Editable 2D plan and walkable 3D view DXF and DWG (Pro); IFC listed on the home page USDZ, OBJ, DAE Not advertised (AI design assistant redesigns rooms from prompts) Yes: estimates, quotes and invoices on every tier Free; Pro $25/mo or $300/yr with CAD export; Business $83.33/mo
Homestyler DWG import; GLB, SKP and MAX model upload. Photo, PDF and LiDAR not advertised Cloud 3D floor planner (editable model) plus renders DWG import; CAD/BIM export not stated on the pricing page OBJ, FBX, STL, PLY per help centre Not advertised Not advertised; Pro+ exports a BOM and construction drawings Free; Pro+ from $6.80/mo; Master+ from $11.80/mo; export tier not stated

How to read the table

  • Editable geometry vs a painted image. An AI renderer paints pixels over your plan; you cannot move a wall afterwards. A converter rebuilds the plan as walls, rooms and openings you can edit, measure and export. Every tool above produces some editable model, but only some will hand that model to you as a file.
  • CAD vs BIM. DXF and DWG are 2D linework for AutoCAD-type tools. IFC is a BIM model with objects (walls, doors, spaces) for Revit, ArchiCAD and BlenderBIM. If your deliverable lives in Revit, you want IFC or a native Revit path.
  • Capture vs convert. CamPlan AI and RoomSketcher's FloorCapture start by scanning a real room with LiDAR. Extruda does both: scan a room with the iPhone app, or convert a plan you already have.
  • Price. "Starting price" is the cheapest paid tier; "export tier" is where CAD or 3D files unlock, which is usually higher.

Need the files, not just the picture?

Upload a plan and get editable geometry, DXF, IFC, .blend, glTF/GLB and OBJ from one model, with a design review and contractor quoting on top.

Get early access →

Which tool for which job

  • Convert an existing plan into CAD, BIM and 3D files: Extruda. See the PDF to DXF and plan to Revit IFC workflows.
  • Measure a real room and get DXF/DWG: CamPlan AI, or Extruda's iPhone LiDAR scan with DXF and IFC export on Pro.
  • Model a building in the browser for a Revit workflow: Snaptrude.
  • Home design visuals and furniture catalogues: RoomSketcher or Homestyler.
  • AI renders from a sketch or photo: Archome.
  • Quote a renovation from the plan: Extruda (bill of materials, proposal, client report) or CamPlan AI (estimates and invoices). See the floor plan to contractor quote workflow.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI tool to convert a floor plan to 3D and CAD?

It depends on the file you need at the end. For editable geometry with DXF and IFC export plus Blender, glTF/GLB and OBJ from one upload, Extruda is built for that and adds an AI design review and contractor quoting. CamPlan AI is strong when the job starts with a LiDAR scan of a real room and needs DXF/DWG. Snaptrude is a browser BIM modeller with Revit and IFC workflows. RoomSketcher, Homestyler and Archome centre on home design and renders rather than CAD files.

Which tools export DXF or IFC from a floor plan image?

Among the six compared here, Extruda exports layered DXF and IFC from an uploaded image, PDF or scan on its Pro plan and above. CamPlan AI exports DXF and DWG from a scan on its Pro plan and lists IFC on its home page. Snaptrude works from a modelled BIM scene and lists DWG, IFC and Revit export. RoomSketcher's help centre says it does not offer CAD formats; Homestyler and Archome do not advertise CAD or BIM export.

Which floor plan tools export to Blender?

Extruda exports a native .blend scene as well as glTF/GLB and OBJ. Archome exports GLB. Homestyler's help centre lists OBJ, FBX, STL and PLY. CamPlan AI exports USDZ, OBJ and DAE. Any OBJ or GLB opens in Blender through File, Import.

Which tools review a floor plan layout with AI?

Extruda's design check compares every wall, door, window and room against typical ranges and flags circulation, daylight, ways out, clearances and privacy findings with previewable fixes (Starter plan and above; educational guidance, not a code review). Snaptrude lists daylight and illuminance analysis on its Pro plan. The other tools compared do not advertise a layout review.

How were these comparisons checked?

Each cell was checked against the vendor's own public pricing, feature or help pages on 2 November 2026. Where a vendor does not mention a capability, the table says 'not advertised' rather than 'no'. Vendors change plans often, so confirm on their site before you buy.